Committee to identify, recruit inaugural dean for Carle Illinois College of Medicine

A search committee established to find the Carle Illinois College of Medicine’s inaugural dean will begin its work this month with the goal of naming the dean by spring 2016. The committee’s 17 members include seven each for Carle Health System and the University of Illinois, and three external members including a local healthcare community leader. 
This founding dean will also serve as Chief Academic Officer for Carle. 
The committee is charged with all aspects of the search, including development of the appropriate job description, overseeing recruitment and the selection process. 
Committee members were selected based on their depth of expertise in their respective fields; their leadership at Carle, Illinois and the community at large; and their experience with similar searches. 
Members are:
Committee members representing Carle
Jonathan S. Bailey, M.D., D.M.D., Committee Co-chair, Associate Medical Director, Surgical Services; Program Director, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery Residency
Kenneth S. Aronson, M.D., Medical Director, Neurosciences Institute
Andy Arwari, M.D., Medical Director, Hospital Medicine
William C. Olivero, M.D., Head, Neurosurgery Division; Professor, UIC College of Medicine
Sally Salmons, M.D., Medical Director, Primary Care Services
John Snyder, Executive Vice President and System Chief Operating Officer
Lyn E. Tangen, M.D., Colon and Rectal Surgeon
Kayla Banks, Ph.D., R.N., Executive Director of Operations & Planning, Carle Illinois College of Medicine, ex-officio
Committee members representing University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Andreas C. Cangellaris, Ph.D., Dean, College of Engineering, Committee Co-Chair
Rashid Bashir, Ph.D., Professor and Head, Bioengineering
Neal J. Cohen, Ph.D., Professor and Director, Interdisciplinary Health Sciences Initiative
Timothy M. Fan, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Veterinary Clinical Medicine
Karen Kirk, Ph.D., Professor and Head, Speech and Hearing Sciences
Susan A. Martinis, Ph.D., Professor and Head, Biochemistry
Ruby Mendenhall, Ph.D., Associate Professor, African American Studies and Sociology
Kristi Kuntz, Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Policies, Provost Office Liaison, ex-officio
External committee members
Pat Basu, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, Doctor on Demand, Illinois Alumnus
E. Phillips Knox, J.D., Tummelson, Bryan, and Knox, L.L.P.; Former Carle Foundation Board Chair
Sami S. Zabaneh, M.D., Internal Medicine, Christie Clinic
Significant progress is being made in other areas for the Carle Illinois College of Medicine (COM).

  • A committee of Carle physicians and Illinois faculty will be formed this fall to develop an innovative and translational curriculum befitting the first college of medicine in the world to be focused from the start at the intersection of medicine, engineering, biological sciences, technology and big data.
  • A joint national search will begin for a COM chief planner who will focus on accreditation and provide planning guidance prior to enrollment of the first class.
  • A joint search will begin for a physician educator who will develop the clinical teaching structure and advance the culture of teaching at Carle.
  • A research affiliation agreement that governs joint U. of I. – Carle research will be finalized later this fall. It will focus on fostering joint research – particularly translational research – and on facilitating activities that encourage the growth of research funding from the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, foundations and corporate sponsors.  This agreement will include all Carle and U. of I. joint research.